>Tom’s of Maine Natural Deodorant Review

>Tom's of Maine Deodorant

Fair warning that this post talks about perspiration/smelly pits.  🙂

I’m going to be perfectly honest here; I really enjoy my “mainstream” personal care products.  They work, they smell good, and since I “CVS,” I usually get them for free, “better than free,” or pennies.  I know though, that the chemical filled products aren’t good for me, especially anti-perspirants that contain aluminum.  So, I’m trying to take baby steps to switch things over to more natural choices.
 
CVS had a deal a while ago on Tom’s of Maine products, where they were $3.99, with $3.00 Extra Care Bucks back, limit 2.  This deodorant cost me a net of 99 cents (haven’t paid that much in years!), but since I paid with extra bucks, I figured it wasn’t too bad.  I chose the fresh apricot scent, but it comes in several others as well.
 
Here are the ingredients (no aluminum):
 
Name/Purpose/Source

Propylene glycol/Consistency/Natural gas from the earth
Water/Consistency/Maine aquifer
Sodium stearate/Stabilizer/Vegetable oil
Aloe vera leaf juice (organic)/Soothing/Organic aloe (Aloe barbadensis) plant
Witch hazel water/Soothing/Witch hazel (Hamamelis virginiana) plant
Zinc ricinoleate/Deodorancy/Zinc oxide and castor bean (Ricinus communis) plant
Glyceryl laurate/Deodorancy/Vegetable oils
Chamomile flower aqueous extract/Soothing/Organic chamomile (Matricaria recutita) flowers
Apricot fragrance (natural)/Pleasant smell/Natural plant essential oils
Hops [CO2] extract/Deodorancy/Hops (Humulus lupulus) cones
Caprylic/capric triglyceride/Consistency/Coconut (Cocos nucifera) oil and glycerin
Ascorbic acid/Antioxidant/Corn (Zea mays) or molasses
Silica shells/Fragrance duration/Sand

natural deodorant

The deodorant went on really smoothly, almost like a gel solid.  It smelled really nice, but not too strong and not too “fruity,” despite the apricot scent.

I do tend to perspire a good bit, especially when I’m nervous (which is like, always.)  Luckily, I don’t really have a stinky B.O. smell.  Still, I don’t really want to smell that natural, musky scent.  I know some people don’t mind it, pheromones and all, blah blah…I’m not one of them, LOL.

So while testing this, I felt like Molly Shannon’s SNL character, Mary Catherine Gallagher.  I felt like I was constantly sniffing myself.  Hee hee.  While it smelled great at first, it very quickly seemed to “wear off” and I could “smell myself” again.  I tried reapplying every few hours at home, and that seemed OK.  I wanted to give this a fair shake, so I used it for about a week or so.

The other morning, I applied my deodorant, and went for a walk about an hour later.  It wasn’t terribly warm; around 45 when we started, and warmed up a bit as the sun came out.  By the time I finished a 45 minute walk, I felt like I smelled, and a sniff made me feel like I hadn’t put anything on at all.

So, this deodorant is definitely not for me, I’m sticking with my usual for now, but I know lots of people swear by Tom’s of Maine deodorant!

I really want to find a great natural deodorant before my daughter needs to wear it.  I know, she’s only 6…but kids seem to need it earlier and earlier, and she will be a pre-teen before I know it!  I know there are differing opinions on the link between aluminum/parabens and breast cancer, but if I can find a product without them, why not use it?

FTC compliance: I paid normal retail price for this product.  I was not compensated in any way for this post, and all opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in natural deodorant, natural personal care products, Tom's of Maine. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >Tom’s of Maine Natural Deodorant Review

  1. Mariposa says:

    >This is something I've been wanting to try too… I've heard you have to go through a "detox" period of a few weeks before your body regulates itself to the "no aluminum" stuff. So, maybe if you started your daughter out with no aluminum, she wouldn't have a problem? idk. I'm like you. I don't want to stink! lol At least I could blame it on pregnancy hormones right now though… haha

  2. Sarah R says:

    >I have tried Tom's of Maine, Nature's Gate, Crystal deodorant and a few others that I can't think of right now. Honestly, I must be a stinky beast because none of them work for me.I instead chose to go with the most nautral of the mainstream (based on Cosmetic Database) and the winner for me is Sure Unscented. 🙂 It works and isn't rated too bad.

  3. >I use Toms of Maine (unscented) right now and it's not that bad.. I've been using it since December but I really want to go a little bit more natural, I just order one from an etsy shop that Victoria from Mommy is Green blogged about.. http://www.mommyisgreen.net/2011/02/switching-to-natural-deodorant.html

  4. Gwen Tepper says:

    >Thanks for posting this! I was just at the grocery yesterday sniffing the Tom's deodorant, wondering I'd I could truly take this plunge. Now I can save my $ – but I might give that Sure a try that the previous poster recommended!

  5. Maria says:

    >I don't want to turn anyone off from Tom's. I've heard lots of people say they love it! It just isn't for me. I am using Sure right now since it was next in my stockpile lineup, but it's not unscented!

  6. >For people wanting a more natural option you can try coconut oil mixed with some nice smelling essential oils. My husband uses the mineral rock (http://www.lafes.com/lafes-natural-deodorant-stone-p-118.html) before putting on his coconut oil mixture. I like this option because you can customize the smell and essential oils can have anti-microbial/anti-fungal properties. I also agree that there is a "body detox" time. I use the coconut mixture and rarely "smell" like BO.

  7. Laura says:

    >Arm & Hammer Essentials is awesome & aluminum-free. I had the same experience with Tom's.

  8. Maria says:

    >I heard of people making their own deo a few years ago, now I can't remember where. Maybe a frugal website? Definitely good to know it works!!Laura, I will have to look into A&H!

  9. Sarah R says:

    >I'm going to try A&H Essentials next — thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

